Gjallarhorn Worth It Anymore?

Langues: JP EN DE FR
users online
Forum » FFXI » Jobs » Bard » Gjallarhorn worth it anymore?
Gjallarhorn worth it anymore?
First Page 2
 Bismarck.Danz
Serveur: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: danz
By Bismarck.Danz 2019-03-28 00:19:57
Link | Citer | R

the main thing Gjallarhorn had going for it was songs+
yea it gives skill+25, i'm new to bard. how important is skill+? only debuffs right?

i see that there is another flute i can get that i can have +4 songs on for MUCH cheaper.(assuming i'm somewhat lucky)

Linos has base song+1 and can be augmented to have another +3
assuming it stacks, thats as much as Gjallarhorn has
and way cheaper.

additionally, is song+ like geo+ or phantom roll+? in it doesn't stack? or does it stack?
[+]
 Asura.Arico
Serveur: Asura
user: Tename
By Asura.Arico 2019-03-28 01:14:46
Link | Citer | R

Yes. Linos can't get +4. Only +3.
 Asura.Byrne
By Asura.Byrne 2019-03-28 01:26:46
Link | Citer | R

Also, it stacks pretty far.

[+]
By geigei 2019-03-28 04:32:23
Link | Citer | R

If only there was a brd guide out there.
[+]
 Asura.Sechs
user: Akumasama
By Asura.Sechs 2019-03-28 04:42:10
Link | Citer | R

Asura.Arico said: »
Yes. Linos can't get +4. Only +3.
To better emphasize: the max augment Linos can get is +2 for a total of +3.

Gjallarhorn is the cheapest of the BRD RMEAs which, alas, are pretty much all mandatory if you want to do "serious" content on BRD.
As such yes, Gjallarhorn is totally worth it.

At the same time though, Gjallarhorn used to be our only source of song+4, and only a couple of songs here and there could get additional +1.
Now the situation is different. You get up to +3 from the neck, and then some songs can get up to +2 from other slots.
This means that considering the maximum possible value you can reach for each song, Gjallarhorn represents in 2019 a smaller % than it used to be (where it was like, what, over 90%?).