Langues: JP EN DE FR
users online
Forum » Everything Else » Chatterbox » Recommendations For Noob in Data Degree
Recommendations For Noob in Data Degree
By K123 2024-10-11 11:31:10
Link | Citer | R

Fenrir.Niflheim said: »
K123 said: »
People thought I was dumb when I said image generators would change my field (Design) in May 2022...

People said gen AI would never make videos, music, textured 3D models, and on and on, the nature of coding makes it highly vulnerable. Let's revive this thread in 12 months and see where things are rather than theorise.
Let me restate this for you "I am an expert in design and told people AI would change my field, I was right". "I am not an expert in programming/software development I told them AI would change their field, like it did mine, I was laughed at" Maybe if you had some expertise it would not be comparing apples and oranges.

The most I have gotten out of AI as part of my workflow is documentation, and it is amazing for it. I can do the manual work of documenting some flow diagrams using mermaid and set those as examples then pass in the whole code base and get out a solid flow diagram for each function and method. After that you can even ask it to generate flow diagrams for specific variables so it shows you how that variable is changed.

but outside of that actually doing the coding, it has done nothing more than absolute crap, which most code on the internet is in fact crap so no real surprise. It can not properly iterate or maintain context for a program that is in the thousands of lines of code. And it really is just polluted with too much crap to generate nice clean code, just look at how many damn comments the thing puts in.