Couple Questions Regarding Vista, For Those In The Know...

Langues: JP EN DE FR
users online
Forum » Everything Else » Tech Support » Couple questions regarding Vista, for those in the know...
Couple questions regarding Vista, for those in the know...
Serveur: Fairy
Game: FFXI
user: effedup
By Fairy.Xxnumbertwoxx 2009-03-11 12:10:32
Link | Citer | R

I've Googled this to no avail, so maybe someone here can help me out? ^^

I finally got the final part of my new build yesterday (had to RMA my PSU, was DOA >.<) and so far everything's working great. I'm still learning where they moved crap around in Vista 64-bit compared to my trusty old XP, but it's not as bad as I thought it was gonna be, and it's a lot more responsive and speedy then I expected tbh. I've looked through the knowledge base somewhat, but it might as well be written in Klingon for all the help it's giving me lol. Anyways, questions:

First off, Windows Defender shows up in my tray with a "blocked startup program", the "RTWLan" application. As it's description shows it to be from ASUS I can only assume that it's some LAN application with my motherboard...I'm connected via wireless and don't even use the ethernet ports, so I don't think I even need this running, so that's not the issue...but how do I remove it from the startup entirely? I don't see the option when I right-click, and it doesn't seem to have any way to tell it "fine, don't run it, I don't care, stop telling me, and get outta my tray". So yeah, any ideas on how to do this?

On that note, what the hell is Windows Defender? I have AVG antivirus, do I need to have this running? Is it a bad idea to turn it off? Would the memory I get back be worth closing it down or should I just let it run? Is it as crap as most other Windows related programs are when compared to free third party substitutes (like Spybot, etc)?